iOS 3.1 Is it possible to downgrade preinstalled 3.1 to 3.0

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by elitenoob, Sep 23, 2009.

  1. elitenoob

    elitenoob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hi, my new 8Gb 2G itouch was preinstalled with 3.1 firmware, and based on reading from some forums here and other sites, people have problems downgrading with the new 8gb touch

    For me, I get stuck on the 1602 error caused when you are stuck at the "preparing to restore" bar. I want to know if this was addressed earlier and can be solved from any of the tutorials here.
  2. ryanangus

    ryanangus Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    To downgrade, put your iPod into DFU mode first, then shift-click restore in iTunes and select the ipsw you want to use

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    A guide to do so is available here.
  3. azntiger1000

    azntiger1000 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Unfortunately, I don't think you can downgrade it...I'm still doing research
  4. bach251195

    bach251195 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yes! It can be downgraded to fw 3.0

    Just like most of you guys, I can't help myself from the urge of upgrading my ipod to 3.1.1. Just like Simsandwhich said, to downgrade your ipod, connect your ipod to your PC or Mac, put it into DFU mode, shift-click restore in iTunes and select the 3.0 fw
  5. LeSnak

    LeSnak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    apparently, the 'new' but still 2G iPod Touch that comes shipped with 3.1 cannot be downgraded even thoug it's the same 2G.weird.doesnt it use the iPod2,1 restore file such as any other 2G?
  6. azntiger1000

    azntiger1000 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    THATS WHAT I THOUGHT! But the "new" ipod touch 2g 8gb that comes with 3.1 doesn't seem to downgrade to 3.0. It keeps giving me the 1600 error.
  7. EBOBO

    EBOBO New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do a regular restore and download the ipsw. Compare that to the original 2G. Wondering if the names are the same.
  8. thekodanator

    thekodanator Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I think the "new" 2g has some minor hardware updates that weren't publicized.
  9. threetothefour

    threetothefour Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad 2 (White)
    damn.... i have same problem.....
  10. zoiter123

    zoiter123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I mosses the iwps (or whatever) file so it appeared to iTunes as 3.1.1 but was 3.0. Unfortunately it came out with a random error.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    . It was worth a try tho

Share This Page