iOS 4.1 Is it absolutely necessary to DFU restore during Sn0wbreezing?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by iDestiny, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. iDestiny

    iDestiny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    44
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    I suppose I can only get it from someone with Sn0breeze experience

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    I read Redmond pie and it says you only shift+click FW you cook up using Sn0breeze, but I read spiritjb.org (in the sticky) and that said you needed DFU.

    In the past, even with Spirit I have not ever needed a DFU restore to upgrade via shift+click
  2. hipy

    hipy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    u must. You must start ireb to get in to a pwned state so that you can restore to the custom ipsw.
  3. iDestiny

    iDestiny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    44
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    crap....
    Once it's pwned, do I need to DFU ever again?
  4. GazaIan

    GazaIan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5,975
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Only if you plan on restoring again.
  5. iDestiny

    iDestiny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    44
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    I'm even more confused now.
    http://www.iphoneheat.com/2010/09/jailbreak-ipod-touch-3g-2g-ios-4-1-with-sn0wbreeze-2-0-1/

    Says that I need to be on 3.1.2 but I don't need iReb because I am an MC model. I cannot downgrade to 3.1.2 and I have tried previously, because I keep getting Error 28 which is apparently a hardware error that cannot be bypassed without SHSH.

    2G MC and MB models should be able to downgrade without SHSH but I think my iDevice is an anomaly.
  6. cyberghoser1

    cyberghoser1 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Nope, to downgrade to 3.1.2 you do need shsh blobs saved, that's a fact, now for the guides yeap they are a little bit confusing, but i am sure you do need to be in dfu mode, now about redsn0w beta i've found something, when it hangs on "waiting for reboot", if the iDevice is in restore mode and not dfu mode it will continue and do the job but nothing happens again after that, oh well i just think SHAtter is our response to all that, patience.
  7. hipy

    hipy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    What is the problem going in dfu? why do not want to do it?
  8. mitchell209

    mitchell209 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    No; only MB models can downgrade without the SHSH backed up. MC model devices require the SHSH to be backed up in order to downgrade.

Share This Page