Is iPad dual core?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by iPhondTouch3G, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. iPhondTouch3G

    iPhondTouch3G Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Some random website said that the Apple A4 chip was a modified ARM Cortex-a9 with everything else integrated into one chip (graphics, i/o, etc.) What i know is that the a9 is a beastly ARM chip thats dual core and reaches speeds up to 2 GHz and is known to be 5 times faster than an Intel Atom 1.66 GHz when clocked at 700 MHz. There is even a quad core model of the same chip but no single core. If this site is correct, then the iPad must be a truly powerful device. Is it 2 Core? It also says it has a Mali GPU, which is better than the SGX in the 3GS.
  2. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    How can we know?

    The device isn't even out.
  3. iPhondTouch3G

    iPhondTouch3G Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    oh! it IS dual core
  4. helikido

    helikido New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    you don't know.

    i'm pretty sure it won't be. it never said on the apple website.
  5. dunuck

    dunuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    THIS

    In the other hand there is plenty of reliable sources that mention that it is a single core cpu configuration

    Even more there are NO sources that point out to be dual core

    and the 2ghz thing will never happen in this generation
  6. brsniteshade

    brsniteshade New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    i would think not but it could be
  7. Dónde?

    Dónde? New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Apple would've mentioned this in the keynote?
  8. austers

    austers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,734
    Likes Received:
    456
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Too much heat maybe?!
  9. helikido

    helikido New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    this and it will also drop the batt about 3-4 hours.

    also the power is not needed.
  10. dunuck

    dunuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    for the ipad not... atleast until further OS revisions to make it more computer like i.e multitasking etc. But the upcoming nvidia tegra 2 tablets will sure use the extra power in cpu/gpu configuration

Share This Page