Ipodtouch wifi problem

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by sepisepsep, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. sepisepsep

    sepisepsep New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    heya.
    so during my class,out of boredom, i just
    checked my itouch for anything.
    i checked the wi-fi and found out
    that there's a connection.
    so i joined successfully.
    but the thing is, i can't do internet stuff
    like browse safari or chat with y!messenger.
    safari just keeps on saying "safari cannot open the page.."
    see, i'm "connected" to the wifi
    but i can't actually use it.. come on!
    it's like im not connected to any wifi connection
    at all..
    any suggestions please?
    p.s.
    this ain't jailbroken.
    it's 2.2 @ that time..
  2. darkluciferman

    darkluciferman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    if it is a school wifi connection it is probably restricted, via certain man addresses for certain computers in certain places, some school computer tech guys are actually good at their job (i have the same thing in my schools staffroom wifi).
  3. eladc

    eladc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Maybe the strength is very low.
  4. sepisepsep

    sepisepsep New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    so you mean to say that that connection
    is actually "locked"(althought it doesn't say so)?
    how do you know if a wifi connection is
    restricted or not?
  5. busterke

    busterke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    You can't know.
    But it probably means that the techs from your school didn't put your iPod's mac adress in the allowed mac-adresses list..
  6. darkluciferman

    darkluciferman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    yes it isnt exactly locked as it has a password on it, but locked inside the router/server to certain computers "mac" addresses

    and to know if it is restricted or not, well for one you wouldnt be able to connect to it but other than that the only way i can think of is to be the tech guy who set up the connection.
  7. sepisepsep

    sepisepsep New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    accdg to my experience,
    usually if the signal is low,
    safari doesn't actually say
    that it can't open the page.
    but rather the page
    will still be opened in a greater
    amount of time compared
    to other wifis that have stronger
    signals..
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    oh well.thanks guys.
    guess im not gonna be able to
    do some browsing and surfing
    inside the classroom X_x
  8. IceBerg

    IceBerg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    turn on numerical wifi it will display ind -dmb anything below about -69dbm is going to fail.

    average is between -40dbm and -60dbm, anything above -40dbm is pretty good.

    if your signal is in the average or good range and you have problems then you know it's an issue, it's it's not it's simply a signal issue. Signal issues can not be fixed without an external mod. I've been looking at a mod that would place a adhesive antenna on the back of the touch and iphone and wrap inside and would require a trace to be cut and a small bit of soldering. There are a few issues with the idea. most hard cases either wont fit or block the signal. and there is a durability issue in that the adhesive antenna can rip. I'm trying to contact a few manufactures about another idea.
  9. SKINWALKER

    SKINWALKER New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    one other thing. A lot of companies/businesses do this also, but they have the wifi network running through a proxy so you need their settings in your firewall software or you'll be able to get an IP address but it can't do anything. My company is like that. If I don't have my firewall enabled I can't get on the internet but I can browse my network folders.
  10. IceBerg

    IceBerg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Highly unlikely that a school or university would do this, they would use a Cisco PIX and transparent proxy with authentication. However it is a possibility. MAC blocking would probably be more likely. Custom proxies are usually only used where there is a system maintainer of all the computer systems.

Share This Page