ipodtouch software not installed...

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.4 Jailbreak' started by lolodakid21, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. lolodakid21

    lolodakid21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    "this ipod cannot b used because the required software is not installed"
    ... this keeps showin up after i unistalled and reinstalled itunes. sumbody plz help i want to use my ipod

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. mikesgroove

    mikesgroove New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    15
    Within your iTunes folder there needs to be an iPod Software Folder. First check to see if its there. If its empty, your missing the .ipsw file you need (the firmware). Just search for whatever fw you want, stick it in that folder, and you'll be all set
  3. lolodakid21

    lolodakid21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    im not to good with the techno mumbo jumbo sorry i didnt get that
  4. mikesgroove

    mikesgroove New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    15
    do you have a mac or pc?
  5. lolodakid21

    lolodakid21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    pc windows vista
  6. mikesgroove

    mikesgroove New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    15
    Go to your C folder in my computer

    In that there should be an itunes folder and there might be a separate ipod software folder but if not it should be in the itunes folder.

    Look in the ipod software folder (it could be named something different but it will be similar) and see if there are any icons that kind of look like legos. The most recent firmware is 1.1.4 and it will end in .ipsw.

    Let me know if you can find that folder and if there's anything in it or not.
  7. lolodakid21

    lolodakid21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i went to computer>os (c

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    > ipod(and)itunes and i found sum things such as bin. acknoledgements and in itunes i found cd conf. e.t.c. and i downloaded the firmware 1.1.4.
  8. lolodakid21

    lolodakid21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    i already had downloaded the firm ware b4 goin to computer blabla and i still don't kno y dat software message keeps poppin up
  9. mikesgroove

    mikesgroove New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    15
    So your Firmware is in the right spot, and it 1.1.4?

    Hmmm.... Well that was the first thought that came to me- itunes was trying to restore your firmware, looked where it should be, and couldn't find it.


    Were you trying to restore? Or were you just trying to plug in and sync?
  10. lolodakid21

    lolodakid21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    plug in and sync ....ok everytime i plug in my ipod touch a box comes up on its own aying "auto play apple ipod with a camara thing and wen i open itunes a box pops up sayin "this ipod can not be used becaue the required software is not installed, run the itunes installer to remove itunes, then install itunes again" which i did a few times

Share This Page