ipod video hard drive for touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by dgxnil, Jan 26, 2009.

  1. dgxnil

    dgxnil Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    hey guys i have a 5th gen 30 gb ipod video
    i was wondering if i can like copy the system files
    of my ipod touch HD to my ipod vidoes HD
    nd use that in my touch so i'll have a 30 gb ipod touch
    im sorry if this a completely stupid question
  2. Vietlord

    Vietlord New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hmm, I personnally don't know this, but I am certain you just can't "copy" system folders.
    You would have to open both iPods and switch their HD. But I still that won't work because they won't be compatible and the Video's HD will be to big to fit into the touch.
  3. dgxnil

    dgxnil Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    aww man
    im soo dumb lol
    i didnt even think about that

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    sorry for the useless thread.
  4. Sloppy

    Sloppy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    The firmware wouldn't allow it to be copied anyway. You would basically just be bricking the iPod. But that would be cool though.
  5. thechungster

    thechungster Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    If it was possible, how on earth would you manage to use it?
  6. iCrap

    iCrap Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    its posible, there were guides for the 5g. the firware isnt on the drive, its on a flash thing in the iPod

    so when you crack it open and get/make a HD converter than plug it into iTunes you get this
    "iTunes has detected an iPod in recovery mode blah blah...."

    then wait and you get a shiny new 30/80gb iPod

    should work..

Share This Page