Ipod touch & tv out

Discussion in 'Introduce yourself' started by sdbrown, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. sdbrown

    sdbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a generation 3 Touch and am slowly learning to exploit its potential. The problem I am working on now is using the touch to show photos on my tv. I have purchased an Apple Composite AV Cable and have tried to display photos on both a HD tv and an older one -- I get no image on either. The instructions for the cable make reference to setting the Ipod to a "TV out", but I cannot find such a setting. Can anyone advise me on what I am doing wrong?

    Thanks.
  2. iPod Devil

    iPod Devil New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I did not know you could buy cables to plug it into the tv.
    Do u have to synk it to the tv or something.
  3. sdbrown

    sdbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is my question, I think -- how do you sync the two so that the tv is receiving the Touch signal?
  4. jdknauer113

    jdknauer113 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    you have to change the input settings on the tv, usually its a channel called side on HD tvs. You dont need to sing it, just plug it in and either change the channel or input settings
  5. iPod Devil

    iPod Devil New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    would it be in the tv menu.
  6. joshsparkie

    joshsparkie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Goto source then AV IN if its the AV cord
  7. maximus5961

    maximus5961 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    lmao its not for syncing its to display video/pictures/music (and with a hack) apps and springboard on your tv..now why its not working im not sure im currently waiting for the "resupported" app in cydia so i can use my cheap chinese av cable
  8. TakenAppleDownAPeg

    TakenAppleDownAPeg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Go to [Settings]>Video>(Under the TV Out) make sure that Widescreen is On if your TV is a Widescreen TV and the TV signal is NTSC if your TV is from the USA and PAL if it's from the EU or South America, if that doesn't work you may need an app from cydia.
  9. Nicksons

    Nicksons New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I have Resupported4 on my 4.2.1 firmware iPt3-32gb I bought DisplayOut too... I've tried restoring, then try to play a vid on my iPod.
    The volume bar disappears, but nothing comes out on screen.
    I tried changing the cable type settings to composite and all, still same, even after changing the TV signal

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. read49

    read49 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I'm having the same problem. I recently got an official Apple AV cable, and it doesn't work with my iPod touch 2G 4.2.1 jailbroken. All i get is sound, and it removes the volume bar. I've also tried it with my friends iPod touch 3G 4.1 jailbroken, and it's the same on his. Prease herp.

Share This Page