iPod touch screen brightness and contrast problem

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by marmota_de_campie, Feb 17, 2008.

  1. marmota_de_campie

    marmota_de_campie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a touch jailbreaked to 1.1.3, with software update. The jaibreak process went smoothly, no problems at all. Installed some applications, everything worked fine, nothing to complain. But, at a moment, the touch started to behave strange. The contrast was fine, the black was black, white was white, until it goes to sleep. As soon as I wake it up, there is a sudden change in the brightness and contrast: the screen becomes whiter, like milk, like a broken B&W tv set with too much white on it. However, a cold restart fixes the problem, until next sleep. As soon as I take it from sleep (with home or power button), the same milky change brightness and contrast. Nothing helped, currently. Has anyone encountered this problem? It seems that it is not a touch problem, because I restored it to original 1.1.3 version from apple, and the problem has gone. I suspect that Summerboard is responsible. Have anyone encountered this problem, and if yes, did you solve it? And how?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Note: I tried removing all of the applications, everything I installed, nothing worked...
  2. Shade

    Shade New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    33
    That sounds really weird... take a screenshot next time

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    I kinda want to see it
  3. marmota_de_campie

    marmota_de_campie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hm, I think I found out why this is happening, however I am not sure yet... The issue is that maybe my touch has the same problem with 'negative black' that a lot of people around are complaining about. Going to version 1.1.1, the screen goes nuts. Maybe the firmware in version 1.1.1 has the screen bug, and it was fixed in version 1.1.3, but I suppose that happens because it is just an upgrade to 1.1.3, so the firmware is not touched, and the touch goes to 1.1.3 with the same defective firmware as from 1.1.1... And I have no solutions, I suppose, unless a jailbreak will come directly for 1.1.3...
  4. JBB

    JBB New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    29
    Device:
    iPhone
    I could just be a corrupt frimware file, try downloading from a different source. My 1.1.1 copy is fine, if you want it I can upload it somewhere.

    EDIT: LOl I dont know if that post was even relevant.
  5. nudded

    nudded New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Firmware files cant be corrupt. They are checksummed.
  6. Wolverine

    Wolverine New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Strange,

    I have the same Problem. I get 5 IPodTouch 8GB with 1.1.3. Downgrade them to 1.1.1, jailbreak them, and take it to jailbreak 1.1.3 (the mobile version). But this problem is only one one from my 5 iPods's. any solution for this?
    It's this Problem begin from downgrade to 1.1.1 BUT only one ONE from my FIVE.... VERY STRANGE!!
  7. pluto198

    pluto198 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Could someone snap a picture of an iPod with this problem?
  8. beno

    beno New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Same problem on my 1.1.1 ipod, all you have to do is lock it and unlock it until it goes away.
  9. Wolverine

    Wolverine New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does some try to JB it to 1.1.2 first and then to 1.1.3? Or you all just use 1.1.1 or 1.1.3 (with a direct update from 1.1.1 to 1.1.3)??
  10. Wolverine

    Wolverine New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok just downgrade it to the 1.1.1 (no jailbreak) and the problem is there. But it's just on some models... Does any have an idea how to fix this?

Share This Page