iPod Touch Respringing Out Of Standby?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by VinnieB, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. VinnieB

    VinnieB New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Hi. I have a 16GB 2G iPod Touch, and a few days ago, it started taking ages to load when I took it out of standby. With closer inspection, I found I could faintly see the spinning wheel, revealing that it is respringing, and then it takes about 40 seconds to come up to my lockscreen.

    Would anyone have idea why it's doing that when bringing it out of standby?
  2. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    Are many mobilesubstrates are you running? What theme?
  3. VinnieB

    VinnieB New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    I'm not sure about MobileSubstrates. Could you please enlighten me about that?

    As for theme/s, I have Deep, Mario Sounds, and Orange Battery, Font and WiFi bars. Could this contribute to it, do you think?
  4. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    mobile substrates are what run your backgrounds(winterboard, backgrounder, poof, sbsettings, ect) your ipod is respringing because it runs out of resources meaning low on RAM, this happens to the non 3G/3GS because of low RAM
  5. VinnieB

    VinnieB New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    I have all of those things on, and probably more, but surely this shouldn't affect me when it's in standby?
  6. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    it could, if the RAM is low enough
  7. VinnieB

    VinnieB New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Usually it tells me I have around 40MB free, and in apps, it can go down to 10.
  8. b-mac 39

    b-mac 39 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,809
    Likes Received:
    60
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Yea, that's very low. If you have the newest version of Winterboard, try optimizing your themes. That should free up some memory. Also, whenever you exit an app, go into SBsettings, navigate to processes, and click free up memory. This is because, personally, whenever I exit an app, it only frees up about 5-6 MB of RAM. However, if I click the free up memory button, it opens up about 20-30 MB of RAM.

Share This Page