iPod touch permissions..?

Discussion in 'Introduce yourself' started by ManGforce, Aug 30, 2010.

1. ManGforce

ManGforce Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hello everyone,
    i just signed up here to find an explanation about the permissions thingy..
    well, im not new to jailbreaking iDevices, but im new to the permissions thing
    today, i read about deleting some useless launch daemons. the post said to set the Launch Daemons folder permission to 755
    i googled how to set the permissions to 755 and i found this site
    http://ask-yusry-anything.blogspot.com/2008/02/how-to-change-filefolder-permissions-in.html
    so i used Putty to ssh into my ipod, and i typed the following
    chmod -R 755 /Applications/*
    i didnt know that i have to type in only the folder name
    like, i was supposed to type chmod -R 755 /system../Launch Daemons, but i typed this "chmod -R 755 /Applications/*"
    and today, when i opened cydia (1st time after changing the permission), i got an error about denied permission
    so i knew that i was supposed to type something else.
    anyway, i fixed it by typing "chmod -R 4777 /Applications/Cydia.app", and it worked.
    but im kinda worried if this will affect the other apps in that folder. so any suggestions about what to do next ? like shall i change the permission for /Applications again? and if yes, what shall i change it to? and whats the default permission for everything? because in that post, it said that if i dont set the permission for launch daemons to 755, my ipod will get stuck on boot screen. but since i only changed the permission of /Applications folder to 755 (by typing chmod -R 755 /Applications/*) , how come i didnt get stuck on boot screen? and did it even change the permission? or the error i got from cydia about the permission from something else..?

help please
    i just need to know permission i shall set and to wat folders/files
    ipod touch 2g (mc model) os 4.0
    and thanks !!