iPod Touch not idetified properly

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.3 Discussions' started by sbenford, Jan 19, 2008.

1. sbenford

sbenford New Member

Hi folks,
    I'm a newbie to this forum and was wondering if anybody had experienced the following problem since upgrading to 1.1.3:
    On my first attempt at downloading 1.1.3, the download gave me an error message. Since the it seems that 9 times out of 10 when I connect my iPod to my pc, I get the following error message in iTunes: "An iPhone has been detected, but it could not be identified properly. Please disconnect and reconnect the iPhone, then try again".
    I checked out the Q&A sections on the iTunes website and after trying a couple of the suggested remedies, my iPod touch was once again recognised and I was able to re load 1.1.3 and I have since been able to sync my latest downloads and also been able to load the new applications.
    However, I have tried to sync my itunes again today and have once again got the: "An iPhone has been detected, but it could not be identified properly. Please disconnect and reconnect the iPhone, then try again" error message.
    I can't understand what is causing this. Any suggestions? Why does my iTunes think I have an iPhone?
    S
  2. d113

d113 New Member

I'm having the same issue.. has anyone helped this gentleman?

D
  3. tj.whosyomomma

tj.whosyomomma New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    i have this problem too, but is it really a problem?
  4. tj.whosyomomma

tj.whosyomomma New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    correction

i just recconnected my ipod after it registering as an iphone, and now it registers as an ipod touch, problem solved?
  5. Bird City

Bird City New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
  6. Complexis

Complexis Retired Moderator

Device:
    4G iPod touch