iPod touch filled with "other" files

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by now5589, Jan 4, 2009.

1. now5589

now5589 New Member

I have had my touch for a couple weeks now and everything has been fine. Today I took the music off so I could reorganize and add more. When I pressed "Sync" it said there wasn't enough space to hold all my music, I looked at the bottom and it said there was 6 GB of "other" files. Does anyone know how I can delete those files.
  2. ZunePod

ZunePod Banned

Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    SSH in and delete the music folder
  3. Aestysu

Aestysu Member

Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    restore? other than that i dont know.
  4. now5589

now5589 New Member

well I'm kinda new to this...what does "SSH" stand for?

and I already tried restoring, and it didn't work.
  5. angelzz

angelzz New Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i had this problem twice.

i don't know this will work for you or no, but it works for me.
    go to edit-preferences-devices-disable automatic syncing for ipod or iphone.

i've tried to do some search about this problem on google , but i didnt find any solution , and some forums say just disable the auto sync.
  6. Sape

Sape New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    I know this problem as probably already been solved, but this problem has happened to me several times, and for future reference, this has helped me.

Close iTunes.

SSH into your iPod, go to /private/var/mobile/Media/iTunes_Control/ and delete the contents of the Artwork, iTunes, and Music folders.

Re-open iTunes while holding downing Shift. A dialog box will open saying that iTunes needs a library to continue. Select 'Create Library...' and make a new iTunes library somewhere simple like your desktop or My Documents (as it can be deleted later.) Hit 'Save' and iTunes will open with no songs or anything in it.