ipod touch as remote control

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by optikalefx, Nov 26, 2007.

  1. optikalefx

    optikalefx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    hey is there a way i can use my ipod touch as a TV remote control? Maybe something to hook my tv to wifi and use it like signal?
  2. steeped

    steeped New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    9
    It was possible with the old PSP's, but not with the Touch. You wanna know how I know this? I went to the "search" button on the forums, and I found a thread asking the exact same thing that you are.

    The search button is your friend. Lazyness is what gets us users annoyed.
  3. romeboards

    romeboards Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    it IS possible...but with a very good know how of technology and a good budget..and it wouldnt be worth it anyways
  4. steeped

    steeped New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well maybe with an accessory but definitely not by the built in wireless internet.
  5. romeboards

    romeboards Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    yeah. it would involve 'recording' the sound made by the remote control, saving it onto the ipod, and then emitting it out with an attachment on the ipod as a 'song.' Short answer, no.
  6. plg6067

    plg6067 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    2
    The psp could do it cuz it has ir, the ipod does not...
  7. badhairdude

    badhairdude New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Infrared attachment!
  8. steeped

    steeped New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thats just making a hole in your pocket.
  9. optikalefx

    optikalefx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    well, what do we have that has IR

    the mac has IR and so does the apple remote, what if you could mod the remote to work with your ipod so you would just kinda have that in your pocket but be able to use the touch.

    And In my defense, I do search, and when posts are months old that arent going in the direction i wanted to take them, then there is reason to bring up new ideas. No one is going to bring up a day 1 thread about x now just because they want to talk bout it again.

    no hard feelings.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. Alexfinn

    Alexfinn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats just stupid, most remotes use different infared signals to change the tv channel, if you were going to use an apple remote, why not just use the one that comes with your tv ?! because if you wanted to use it on another thing, say a hifi, it would need reprogramming to have the correct signal to do the function your asking it to, basically its not worth the effort

Share This Page