iOS 3.1 iPod Touch 8GB 2G Jailbreak?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Vhax, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. Vhax

    Vhax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    All I want to know is how to jailbreak a 8GB 2G Model: A1288 (MC) iPod Touch on 3.1.2 firmware.
    What do I have to do? Downgrade?
    Will that affect my iPod at all? (Features, etc)
    If I have to downgrade it, how do I do it?
    What program do I need? (blackrain, etc)

    Thanks in advance.
  2. Zack3563

    Zack3563 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    What do I have to do? Downgrade? - Nope, blackrain works with 3.1.2
    Will that affect my iPod at all? (Features, etc) - Nope, as long as something doesn't happen during the jailbreak everything will stay the same.
    What program do I need? (blackrain, etc) - Just download blackrain.
  3. Vhax

    Vhax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I also read around that the "MC" models jailbreak is tethered.
    Is it true?

    Edit: Also, I bought this iPod like...3 or 4 days ago it has music, videos and apps in it. My question is, do I have to restore it before running blackrain?
  4. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    no you dont need to restore it. but it will be tethered. so just run blackra1n every time you get the "connect to itunes" logo.
  5. Vhax

    Vhax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    So.... It's still going to be tethered?
    On another thread I made, the guy told me it's not.

    I want to to be untethered, so I don't have to JB it over and over again.
    So, who's right and who's wrong?
  6. Zack3563

    Zack3563 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Since it's the 2G it shouldn't be tethered but I might be wrong.
  7. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    ok if you want to know if its tethered or not, go to Settings>General>About and then scroll down to Model. If it starts with MC, then it is tethered, if it is MB then it is not.

Share This Page