Ipod touch 4 - Wifi at home is locked

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ipodtouch7, Oct 26, 2010.

1. ipodtouch7

ipodtouch7 New Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Hi. Can anyone help me to connect to my wifi at home. I have an ipod touch 4 that is jailbroken, and I'm new to the ipod world. I've been able to use the wifi at work and have also used it at a few free places, so I know the wifi works, but I'd like to use it at home to explore Cydia. I have a laptop at home that is password protected, by myself so my kids can't get onto the internet. When I try to connect to wifi at home I can see my laptop listed on my ipod, but it has a lock symbol next to it. When I select it, it asks me for a password. When I enter the password I use on my laptop and click on 'join' it says it's unable to join the network. I'm thinking it has something to do with the setting I've selected on my laptop. I'd like to adjust those settings (if indeed that is the problem), but I still want my laptop to be secure, and not let others (neighbors and such) be able to tap into my connection, or have other devices such as the the kid's wii be able to share the connection. Any advice? Is my problem my laptop settings? Thanks!
  2. SwiftSkii

SwiftSkii Active Member

Device:
    iPad
    No. Your laptop does not do anything to your iPod. It should be like this as a connection:

iPod->Router->Internet.
    NOT
    iPod->computer->router->internet. Unless you have an Ad-Hoc network on your computer, I don't think you do. Look at the back of your router if you have FIOS, or on your computer in Internet explorer or firefox, go to 192.168.1.1 type in admin for user and pass. Just go through the menus until you find a WEP or WPA key.

Hope I helped.
    -Swifty.
  3. ipodtouch7

ipodtouch7 New Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch