iPod Touch 3G Multitasking Turn-Off

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by TechDudeGeorge, May 23, 2010.

  1. TechDudeGeorge

    TechDudeGeorge Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I can get a iPod Touch 3G 32gb. When I upgrade to 4.0. Can you turn multitasking off. Since you get it by Double-tapping the Home Button. But I like to use stuff like Backgrounder (Which is true backgrounding (Apps stay running) and have Backgrounder set for Double-Press. Anyone seen an option so far to change the button combination or turn it off.

    Since I am stuck in deciding for a 2G or 3G.

    Since -

    2G - No Apple Multitasking (So can use backgrounder fine), but no screen rotation lock

    3G - Apple Multitasking (But hard Backgrounder) but it has screen rotation lock. Any idea on what I could do.

    It would be better just to change the button combination of the multitasking. So could you make Apple's one activate when I double tab the sleep button instead. Since I prefer backgrounder.
  2. Hackey_Sack

    Hackey_Sack New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Screen rotation lock on 2G can be achieved with an SBSettings toggle. It's called Rotation Inhibitor.

    Beyond that, I've got nothing. xD
  3. TechDudeGeorge

    TechDudeGeorge Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know it can. But the thing is I read it only works in one way. I think it works fine if you lock it in Vertical mode. But when on horizontal it won't work.
  4. ipodtouch1234

    ipodtouch1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    You can do it the same way you can turn it off. Edit the device plist file and make the multitasking entry false.
  5. TechDudeGeorge

    TechDudeGeorge Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, just realized though that it might shut off the Screen rotation. I just want to be able to use the rotation lock without the Apple Multitasking. Or atleast change the apple multitasking buttons.

    It's just so annoying at apple. I want to use backgrounder but want to use the screen rotation lock. But the screen rotation lock is gone when multitasking goes

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    I wonder if you could change the mulitasking shortcut (Apple's one) by using the Cydia app you get to change button shortcuts. Could anyone please try. As I want to know before I get a iPod Touch. And I can't try it out myself atm.
  6. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    Wait for 4.0 and see what jailbreak apps come out for multitasking.
  7. jellydonuts

    jellydonuts New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    Just get Rotation Inhibitor, same concept.
  8. TechDudeGeorge

    TechDudeGeorge Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem is I read that it only locks it on one way. So when you have the iPod help vertical and lock it, it will lock. But put it horizontal and lock it. And it won't lock.
  9. Samphotog

    Samphotog Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Trust me you want a 3g or just wait till September for the next one like me. The 2g is soooo slow now and will be the next to be phased out like the original iPhone and the 1g touch. but at least go with the 3g
  10. ipodtouch1234

    ipodtouch1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    A 3G iPod Touch blows the 2G out of the water. If you want screen rotation lock and no multitasking, I am sure it will become possible. There will probably be an SB settings toggle that enables it instead of the multitasking icon.

Share This Page