iPod Touch 3G, iOS 4.1 won't install

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Achisto, Oct 11, 2010.

  1. Achisto

    Achisto Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hello,
    I need to send my iPod to Apple because my HOME-Button doesn't work any longer. Of course it is jailbroken so I wanted to completely reset it. So far so good, I reseted it and the last part was, to install the new iOS 4.1
    iTunes loaded it, started installing but didn't finish it. It all the time stops right at the end when there's not much space in the progress bar left on both, the iPod and iTunes. I let it run for over two gours, then stoped it and tried it again, reinstalled iTunes etc. but nothing helps. Do you know any help for that problem?
  2. iKeirNez

    iKeirNez Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Try DFU Mode
  3. SwiftSkii

    SwiftSkii Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    Questions:
    Is it iTunes 10?
    Soulutions
    Get iTunes 10.
    Use a 1-Click-DFU program
    Do whatever you need to to get into DFU
    This one is a drastic mesure, but... Try to corrupt the filesystem. That may sound a bit crazy, but if you want to get Apple off of your trail, delete a file that lets it turn on. Or SSH in, i think Apple does that to check the filesystem.

    Anyway, hope i helped.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    His home button is broken.

    Didn't you read the first post?
  4. Achisto

    Achisto Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    it is iTunes 10.0.1
    it already is in DFU Mode, I forgot to mention it, I used this way to restore it
    Question: how can I SSH in it if it isn't connected to the Wifi network?
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Oh, the Home button still works, it just doesn't work the right way, sometimes you can click it 10 times and it won't be recognized....

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    But I still can get in DFU Mode the normal way!
  5. Achisto

    Achisto Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I solved the problem by connecting the device to a second PC and restoring it there without any problems, I just wonder, why it didn't work on mine....
  6. fhk_kz5

    fhk_kz5 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I can be because of the hosts file. You should make it default.
  7. austinmartin

    austinmartin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    most likely you have wifi sync installed. You can't upgrade with this running.
  8. Achisto

    Achisto Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Oh, yes, that's right, I've got WIFI-Sync. So what do I have to do in the future to upgrade anyway?

Share This Page