Ipod touch 3.1.3 loses connection while in stand by

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by thunder-kt, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. thunder-kt

    thunder-kt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    how come my ipod touch loses connection with my wifi network after i put it in stand by mode, but it got back on while im entering the passcode to unlock my touch, so i want to know is it a problem with my touch or my wifi, my route is linsys WRT160N and my ipod touch is 3th gen with 3.1.3 firmware
  2. _JKK_

    _JKK_ Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    It's normal; it is done to conserve power.

    However the iPod will still connect with the services that you have enabled to push data to your iPod (like the Email application) will still connect periodically and check for anything new.
  3. iPwn

    iPwn Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    525
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Yeah, that was a "feature" ever since firmware 1.1. It can be useful, but sometimes bad.
  4. _JKK_

    _JKK_ Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Eh, I don't mind it. Anything to make my battery last longer...

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Anyways, a way to check automagically for any pushed data is to just unlock it for like 5 seconds (letting it connect, get the data, and notify you) and then lock it back again if there is nothing.
  5. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    You can get keepawake from Cydia. It'll been always connected.
  6. thunder-kt

    thunder-kt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    ok thanks guys, but i don't know if there is a pernament jailbreak for 3.1.3 yet? if there is, please tell me, and thanks for the advice anyway
  7. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini

    No jailbreak is permanet.

    If you want to jailbreak on 3.1.3 downgrade to 3.1.2 usig 2gen firmware.
  8. thunder-kt

    thunder-kt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    nah, ill just not jailbreak then, i want to keep my ipod the way it is
  9. LH08WDC

    LH08WDC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    he cant anyway. You need a 8gb to do that, 32 and 64 wont work.
  10. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    I know, I just must have read 8gb by mistake.

Share This Page