iPod touch 2G Jailbreak- QUESTIONS (I'm New)

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by YoMommaSoFat, Jun 5, 2009.

1. YoMommaSoFat

YoMommaSoFat New Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I'm new to this site; actually my friend told me about it. Anyway, ever since I got my iPod touch in May, I've been wanting to jailbreak it. I'm always a little paranoid (so is my mom, maybe it's DNA?) about things that aren't completely authorized by Apple or approved by it. So I come across this jailbreak, and I see all the wonderful things it can do (change background graphics, tweak fonts, Cydia Store, Winterboard, etc.). I don't plan on getting cracked apps, maybe only the ones that are like 10-15 dollars like BeejiveIM and Need For Speed Underground. I've been exploring the world of jailbreaking for the past 3 months (yes even before I got my iPod); by viewing videos of jailbreaking, how-to's, and Pros and Cons.

My main problem is that I know it voids my warrenty (I never purchased the Apple Care; so I'm talking about the 1-year service thing that comes with it when you purchase the device). I'm paranoid, so I'm afraid that sooner or later a software issue will arise, such as I won't be able to turn it on, maybe a Safari error or volume. I know restoring it will probably fix it, but I've heard of issues where you try to restore it but it just gives you an error message and doesn't restore.

Anyways, here are my questions I want you guys to help me answer:

1. After you jailbreak it, how do you upgrade the software to a new version (let's say 2.2.1 to 3.0)? Is there any special steps you must take since I jailbroke?

2. Is it illegal?

3. The program you use to change a theme on your iPod is Winterboard, correct? How do you get that App, because when you jailbreak it it only comes with Cydia and Installer.

4. Using Winterboard, after you change to a theme, can you change back to the black background (the original one)?