iPod Touch 2g Bricked (?) Endless Restore

Discussion in 'iPod touch 2G Jailbreak: redsn0w, 24kpwn, etc.' started by OMFGkennyDIED, Mar 4, 2009.

  1. OMFGkennyDIED

    OMFGkennyDIED New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I jailbroke my iPod Touch 2g and it worked fine for a while until I installed Winterboard. After that it had to reboot, and since I used a Semi-Tethered Jailbreak, I naturally assumed I'd have to redo the last part of the jailbreak. Now, there's a problem. I have tried to restore it to all different versions of firmware, but it just says to Connect to iTunes, and supposedly, restore again. When I try to put it into DFU, I hear the computer make the sounds but the screen doesn't turn white after an unplug/replug. I'm just stuck with either the Apple reboot screen or the Connect to iTunes logo with no backlight. I'm worried that i might have bricked it and will have no way to restore...somebody please help me.
  2. Jailbreakipodtouch2g

    Jailbreakipodtouch2g Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    restart your computer and restore to the official firmware
  3. mitchell209

    mitchell209 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Dude, if it turns on, it's not bricked... Learn what "bricking" an iPod means.

    And Put it into DFU Mode, then shift-click restore and find the original FirmWare.
    Then redo the jailbreaking process. And you have to apply a patch for WinterBoard and other apps to work.

    I'd just go with a Tethered Jailbreak right now, since you don't have to do any patches.

    Edit: Yeah, try a restart of the computer first..
  4. OMFGkennyDIED

    OMFGkennyDIED New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Read the post... I said I have tried restoring it but afterwards, it just goes back to the Apple Screen/Connect to iTunes
  5. mitchell209

    mitchell209 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I did read it, and you're not restoring right then...

    Read my post, and do what I said to do.
  6. OMFGkennyDIED

    OMFGkennyDIED New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't put it into DFU... you know how it normally makes your computer make the noises? Well, my computer does that but it doesn't restore... I have tried restarting the computer already (been trying to fix this for a week)

    Edit: All of you, please try to AIM me because it will be a lot easier to help
  7. Ruamrudee

    Ruamrudee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
  8. OMFGkennyDIED

    OMFGkennyDIED New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have seen that thread already, but i just can't put it into DFU...that's the problem.

    Edit: My AIM ScreenName is yomammasofat1818
    Edit#2: (wow i have to edit a LOT) and iRecovery (the command prompt thing) doesn't launch...i think it is only supposed to launch when you're in DFU right?
  9. mitchell209

    mitchell209 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Wait, what?
    There's nothing inside of the iRecovery Folder that you're supposed to launch...
  10. OMFGkennyDIED

    OMFGkennyDIED New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought i was supposed to launch the command prompt thingy

Share This Page