iPod shows as iPhone? HELPZ

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by gojohnnyboi, Aug 24, 2008.

  1. gojohnnyboi

    gojohnnyboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    55
    Today i've been trying to rid myself of this nasty problem. Every time i restore, regardless of being in dfu or not, my ipod shows as an iphone on the set up screen, and continues to show that way. Yes, i restored with ipod firmware, and many many ipod firmwares at that. Even uninstalled itunes and reinstalled it. Anyone have any ideas of how to fix this?

    shit.jpg

    =[

    -John
  2. flashisflamable

    flashisflamable New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    this could be good...you can get all the free updates, like when ipod touch users had to pay for 2.0, so jailbreak and poof the phone apps!
  3. Khaos

    Khaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    127
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yet you'd be getting the iPhone firmware

    FAIL
  4. gojohnnyboi

    gojohnnyboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    55
    No, i dont want to take any risks at damaging hardware, and the phone apps dont show. It behaves as an ipod would. And i payed for the update, so no
  5. Jordan

    Jordan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    CallApple.

    Use up that 1 year warranty
  6. flyingguitar

    flyingguitar Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    what's the big deal. It works and it behaves like and iPod. The only differance is the text.

    Btw reboot pc & change USB ports

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. gojohnnyboi

    gojohnnyboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    55
    uhmm...because i dont want a f***ing iphone screen. that means that something is messd up in the hardware. in case you dont know thats NOT GOOD. and if i were to accidentally hit upgrade or something and it installed iphone firmware i would be screwed forever
  8. *Soul~Of~iTouch*

    *Soul~Of~iTouch* New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Well, the last resort you could get is to bring it back to Apple and tell them about your problem...if you restored it, I don't think they would be able to tell if you jailbroke or not.
  9. gojohnnyboi

    gojohnnyboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    55
    nearest apple store is like 2 hours away
  10. tinyman392

    tinyman392 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    Call Apple if it is a hardware issue. It's hard to have software to fix hardware. And if they can't fix it, new iPod for you! It's a win win.

Share This Page