iPod Help - Please look

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by iHey, Jul 15, 2009.

  1. iHey

    iHey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hey,

    I got a second generation iPod Touch a couple months ago. And everything was going smoothly. Until about a week ago my iPod ran out of battery so I plugged it in my Xbox 360 so it can get some battery while I play. I think I stepped on the cord, resulting in the cord coming out of the iPod in a few seconds. I turned on my iPod and it said please connect to iTunes. I was confused but I went to restore it and normally restoring, then I got a message saying something like “Apple cannot restore this iPod. Unknown “error 6” Then I return to the please connect to iTunes screen and it says please restore when I connect it to my computer. It just keeps on repeating this process. My iPod is not Jail Broken, and it runs/ran on 2.2.1 (I think), and my computer’s operating system is Windows XP.

    I tried the following:

    • Restarting the computer
    • Restarting the iPod
    • Completely take everything related to iTunes out of my computer, and re-installing.
    • A different USB cable
    • A different USB port
    • A different computer

    Please if you guys/girls can help that’ll be great. Thanks in advance everyone, and I hope you guys can help.
  2. imnewtothisstuff

    imnewtothisstuff New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    just send it in if your still under warranty. No reason to have a slightly damaged iPod when you can get a new one free.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. ben

    ben Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yeah. It's possible you f-ed up the pin connector. Did the USB cable you were using look like this:

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    or this:

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    (fatter on one end)?
  4. iHey

    iHey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch

    The first one, I tired two cables though. But were the skinner ones.

    And is everything on my iPod already gone. Even if I give it to Apple, theres no way of getting anything back?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. Quadrant

    Quadrant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Your songs/videos/photos/apps are all still on your iPod - putting an iPod in DFU mode does not erase the data.

    Shouldn't your songs and stuff already be synced to your iTunes though? If they aren't, you can try downloading a program to extract songs from your iPod.
  6. iHey

    iHey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    No my problem is that my ipod is stuck at a screen like this,

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    But my iPod is not new, nor is it jailbroken. When I go to restore it, it says the iPod cannot be restored. Error 6. I tried to restore when it's in DFU mode. My two questions are:

    1) How/Can I fix this?

    2) Is everything on my iPod (video, apps...etc) already deleted?
  7. Ryuzaki

    Ryuzaki Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    1.) Try different USB hubs
    2.) Get a new version of iTunes
    3.) Get a new version of your Firmware
    4.) Send it back to apple.
  8. Hellishness

    Hellishness Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    this is seriously my solution to any non-jailbroken ipod's problem.
  9. Jaime313

    Jaime313 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Just put it into DFU mode and disconnect and reconnect try that something like this happen to me too...

Share This Page