iOS 3.1 IPOD 2G JB (3.1.2) root password

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by ruehl, Dec 17, 2009.

  1. ruehl

    ruehl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hey guys, just JB'ed my ipod touch and I am wondering why the password "alpine" is not working. I didn't change the password right after it was JB'ed and proceeded downloading themes. I have also installed MobileTerminal and issued commands as I have read in other forums but to no avail. Plz HELP....

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. robertomano24

    robertomano24 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    hm..
    i would make sure you typed "su" to log in as root.. or "root" or "login"
    what does it say? just that it was invalid?
  3. ruehl

    ruehl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    it says su: incorrect password, I have used Winscp424 and Putty for the same account and password and it is not working....
  4. robertomano24

    robertomano24 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    in mobileterminal, type "login"
    if that doesn't work, type "root"
    if that doesn't work, try "passwd" or "su passwd"..whichever works. idr. and see if you can change it
  5. ruehl

    ruehl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Ok, I installed the mobileterminal from Cydia, so here's the result:

    ipod-touch:~mobile$ login
    login: root
    Password: alpine
    Login incorrect

    I have also tried using the "passwd" or "su passwd" but it all failed to login.....
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    So here is the result of using the passwd

    ipod-touch:~mobile$ passwd
    Changing password for mobile.
    Old password: alpine
    Sorry
    ipod-touch:~mobile$ login
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Here is the screenshot:

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Ok here is the LINK of the screenshot
  6. iPhondTouch3G

    iPhondTouch3G Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    so, then when u do su, when it asks for a password, dont enter anything and press enter and it should work
  7. rkpitcher@yahoo.com

    rkpitcher@yahoo.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    try this

    Did you install ssh from cydia. If you did you might hace been infected from a ssh worm going around, infecting devices that have ssh but didnt change the root password. Try the root password ohsh*t. If that works you need to restore.
  8. Fishy

    Fishy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    22
    Device:
    iPad
    There's a couple. One of the set everything to rickroll or something. It was demonically funny.

Share This Page