iPhone Sync/Restore Mistake?!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by pgenereux, Apr 23, 2010.

  1. pgenereux

    pgenereux Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Hi. I'm new here so please go easy on me...

    I have a jailbroken iPod Touch (8GB 3.1.2) and just got an iPhone 3GS (16GB 3.1.3). I restored my iPhone to the iPod Touch's settings in iTunes and some of my JB customization came through (ie: iBlanks, Battery Percentage, etc.) on the iPhone, but obviously not the apps themselves.

    Should I be concerned? Is there anything I may have screwed up in the iPhone?

    Thanks in advance!
  2. Lagunatic

    Lagunatic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    Do you mean the jb apps, the app store apps, or non at all?
  3. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    You probably restored to a backup. Things like that happen when restoring from a backup.
  4. pgenereux

    pgenereux Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    narwal13, I believe you are correct. Is there anything I should be concerned about in doing this? Thanks!
  5. Ryan

    Ryan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,129
    Likes Received:
    28
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Nope, nothing wrong with that, i just did it for my iphone 2G to my iphone 3GS. Just puts all your settings back onto your device, no apps get transferred. Although it is advised that when setting up a new device that you start from new and not restore, this is usually just because of jailbreak compatibility issues with certain plists that may have been copied over from an old device.
  6. pgenereux

    pgenereux Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Thanks Ryan. Is there a way to "re"-start from new or is it a one time chance when first setting up my device?

Share This Page