iPhone Simulator <-Look!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by spoonforknife, Mar 7, 2008.

  1. spoonforknife

    spoonforknife Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    317
    I was screwing around with the Aspen iPhone Emulator. Check out what I got.
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=kZAjlT2Cs9U
    Sorry about the Screenflow demo crap across the front and the lack of sound, but look at it.


    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Note that they do not run. If I were to tap on them, they would open and I would have to quit the simulator.

    Sorry if this has been posted before, I just found this pretty awesome.
  2. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I demoed this couple days ago. Check the first Sticky.
  3. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    No dude, its alright. Though Screen Flow is awesome

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. spoonforknife

    spoonforknife Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    317
    Yeah I know. It is, but I'm too cheap to buy the full version.

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    EDIT: Where in your video did it show getting 3rd party apps on there? Either you didn't cover it or I completely missed it. Same with Flickr.
  5. dude19

    dude19 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    4
    does this simulate the 1.1.1 firmware if it does you should try to jailbreak it and see waht happens?
  6. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    no, it came with the SDK, it is for devs to model their apps and test and all that. some1 correct me if im wrong...
  7. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    That video was made before I discovered you could download the 3rd Part Apps from developer.apple.com/iphone

    But its basically the same principle. Click Build & Go and it sends it to the Simulator to run. Want to post your video on my thread?

    This simulates a 1.2 Firmware. You cannot Jailbreak or do anything to it because it is not recognized in iTunes.
  8. spoonforknife

    spoonforknife Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    317
    Teslanaut, I'm not loading the apps through XCode at all, I'm just putting them in the apps folder and replacing the internals with the 1.1.3 apps. Because without the internals, it's just 1 file, not the whole lot that is supposed to be there. With that, they show on the springboard.
    I am not using XCode at all.
  9. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Hahaha, I put Installer.app on there LOL.

    It shows up and when I click it, it goes to the installer screen, then freezes.

    I Can press home but it does nothing.

    Could you send me some of your Apps or just Installer from your iPod Touch?
  10. spoonforknife

    spoonforknife Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    317
    Dude, I don't have an iPod touch.
    Are you talking about the Simulator?

    Because that's exactly what happens to any one of the apps that I try putting on there.

    I can't find installer, so I didn't screw around with that.

    The apps I used were from public domain (zodttd's source) which I just stuck in the applications folder, and the sdk apps with their internals (except for choice bits) exchanged.

Share This Page