iPhone questions!! Please help!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Appman, Sep 20, 2009.

  1. Appman

    Appman Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,034
    Likes Received:
    56
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Hey guys I'm planning on buying an iPhone 3g or 3GS and I have a few questions:

    1. If I'm on wifi and want to go onto safari, cydia or any app that requires and Internet connection, will it use the wifi or the cell signal for access? Or both?

    2. Is the apps in cydia which allow you to use VOIP apps over 3g, what if you don't have 3g? Will it just work off the regular cell signal.

    3. I use textplus, can I use that over a cell signal or is it just wifi?

    4. Is there a GPS app that will allow me to use GPS without costing me anything.

    5. When do new models of iPhones usually come out?

    6. What are the differences between the 3g and 3GS?

    I know these seem like noobish questions but Ive never had an iPhone before. Thanks for the help.
  2. beefstrudel

    beefstrudel Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    1. It will use the best connection, in these orders. Wifi, 3G, EDGE, GPRS

    2. It will work over EDGE, but a voip app probably wont work well as there is less bandwidth

    3. It will use the cell signal if you're not on wifi

    4. The default Maps app on the iPhone works for free

    5. Once a year, probably in June.

    6. The iPhone 3g has the same graphics and processor of the iPhone 2g. The iPhone 3gs sports a much faster processor and better graphics. Better battery life. Oleophobic coating on the screen so smudges come off so easy...digital compass... louder speaker....video recording and editing..... Better camera..... Yeah if you have a choice get the iPhone 3GS its sooo awesome I love mine.
  3. Gershmer

    Gershmer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    False. The iPhone 3G is slightly faster.
  4. Hellishness

    Hellishness Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    personally, i got a 3g because the market value of a 3gs was about 350 more than what i got my iphone for (380 vs about 700+). if you're buying it with a contract, then by all means, get the 3gs.
  5. Appman

    Appman Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,034
    Likes Received:
    56
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    If I use an app like textplus on the cell signal will I be charged for using the Internet?
  6. beefstrudel

    beefstrudel Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    No, It runs at 412 MHz like the 2g. lol
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Yes. As it uses the internet to go through.
  7. Appman

    Appman Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,034
    Likes Received:
    56
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    So a data plan and contract would be better than buying one off eBay and popping my sim into it. I know I can stick a prepaid sim into an iPhone but does that cost extra for Internet browsing not on wifi?
  8. beefstrudel

    beefstrudel Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    If your talking about AT&T prepaid It will be cheaper just to get a plan and a contract with them.... And unlimited data is nice :]
  9. Appman

    Appman Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,034
    Likes Received:
    56
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    If I use PDAnet from cydia, will it cost extra when I het my bill?
  10. coop777

    coop777 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    depends on the carrier policy on tethering - I use pdanet with tmobile and have had no issues, but start *******ing and you'll probably draw some unwanted attention..

    AT&T technically does not support it right now - the tethering hack used on 3.0.1 was taken away with the 3.1 firmware. I would think that Pdanet should work but be careful there...

Share This Page