iPhone not turning on, but can get into DFU.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by julian124, Oct 5, 2009.

  1. julian124

    julian124 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Earlier when I was using the Camera app, my phone froze, I did a hard reset (power + home button) and it reset, but it only got to the apple screen and turned off. I tried turning it on and it would load the apple boot screen for about 45 seconds and turn off. I tried to do another hard reset and it still would not turn on. Right now I'm trying to restore, but the only mode I can get into is DFU, when I try to restore in DFU it gives me the 1601 error. I have tried completely uninstalling iTunes (iTunes, Mobile Device Support, etc) from the Control Panel, and reinstalling and still no avail. Also, I try putting my phone into Recovery mode, but it shows no display. I connected it to the charger thinking that it may have died, but still nothing. What am I to do?
  2. iptman

    iptman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Jailbroken/ or you dont feel like going to an apple store:

    1. Try a different computer (especially if you have vista)
    2. If you have libusb, uninstall it
    3. Try recovery mode again

    Unjailbroken:

    1. Take it to apple
  3. DrewGzy

    DrewGzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    10
    Not that is really matters but what kind of phone is it? Jailbroken or not?

    When you were trying the DFU restore was it with a custom firmware or a factory restore?

    I'd agree with iptman about taking it back to Apple but if that is not an option might try restoring to factory firmware and go from there.
  4. julian124

    julian124 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    it was jailbroken on 3.1 FM.

    @iptman:
    1. I tried using another computer, both are running XP, didnt work.
    2. Umm, what is LibUSB?
    3.I keep trying but the iPhone shows no display what so ever.

    Im trying to restore it to the original 3.1 FM but it keeps giving me the 1601 error.

    Thank you for your replies.
  5. DigitalNerd

    DigitalNerd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I have the same problem.

    Recently replaced the battery on 1G iPhone. Immediately jailbroke on 3.0 firmware.

    Worked for a couple of days then screen went black and not able to get anything to show up on the screen since. No white, no nothing.

    Tried 2 different XP computers and even a Mac. 1011, 1601 error and some others every dang time.

    Can't get anything to show up on the screen but it goes into DFU mode just fine.
  6. DrewGzy

    DrewGzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    10

    Is your iPhone still under warranty?
  7. julian124

    julian124 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, it actually isn't.
    Am I not able to fix this?
    If I'm not then my only option would be to buy a new phone, right?
  8. DrewGzy

    DrewGzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    10
    Might be a hardware issue but I'd keep playing with it and see what you can do.
  9. julian124

    julian124 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    i keep trying, reinstalling the original fm (i keep getting 1601 error).
    any other firmware keeps getting the 1601 error as well.
    I tried using iREB to restore to original 3.1, but it doesnt work.
    I read up on it, and I read several posts that said that it could be a corrupted bootloader, might anyone know how to fix this?
  10. DrewGzy

    DrewGzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    10
    You were on 3.0 before all of this happened?

    Might try running it through redsn0w and see if that does anything for it.

Share This Page