iPhone as an ipod touch....

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by jordy2324, Oct 23, 2009.

  1. jordy2324

    jordy2324 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    OK. So I just bought an iPod touch. Love it. Good stuff.

    Like everyone else, I would like the addition of a camera. So, I've been thinking about buying a used iPhone and using it as an Ipod touch.

    I've read a few tutorials on how to do this (basically disabling the 3G with airport mode, I think, then turning on the wifi).

    So I'm wondering who has done this? I want to know how it works, if there are any complications, etc.

    Also, how is the wifi on the iPhone? Is it the exact same as an iPod touch?

    Any other insights would be great... thanks...
  2. Sunrisemoon

    Sunrisemoon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Well, I'm pretty sure that Apple locks up the iPhone if you aren't using a phone service. I'm probably wrong though.
  3. jordy2324

    jordy2324 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
  4. jmwerkus

    jmwerkus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    that would work, but when upgrading you would need to hacktivate it becuz otherwise apple would need to activate the phone which they cant do unless theres a sim in it
  5. PieOPah

    PieOPah Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I took the Sim Card out of my iPhone and it worked like an iPod Touch...
  6. jordy2324

    jordy2324 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    OK. So simcard, or no simcard?

    And what is hacktivate? And when you said upgrading... did you mean upgrading the OS?
  7. wearmaize

    wearmaize Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Just take out the SIM card.

    Done.
  8. Sunrisemoon

    Sunrisemoon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    That's it? Does it lose any features?
  9. Tsukoi

    Tsukoi New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yes,
    You wont be able to call, or text.


    (Y)
  10. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    I know there are some phones that get locked if there is no sim card, but I've only experienced this with sony ericsson phones..but then I could just use a non-activated sim card to make it work.

Share This Page