iPhone 3G, Switching SIMs?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Kayzo, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. Kayzo

    Kayzo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    Okay, here's the thing. I tried searching, however most of the related questions were about AT&T, and I live in Canada.

    Let's say I bought a used iPhone, all activated either locked to Rogers or Fido.
    With no SIM card in it, can I jailbreak + unlock it?
    Once unlocked, can I put in my old Fido SIM card? It's a 3-year contract, (2 years in), and just has 200 minutes and unlimited text, NOT pre-paid.

    This question has probably been answered, but when I searched it was all about AT&T. I would think you can because Rogers and Fido can sell you iPhones in Canada with no term, unlike in the US and AT&T, who force you to buy a data plan.

    Thanks again!
  2. ZombieKiller

    ZombieKiller Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    With no SIM, unlock and jailbreak with redsn0w and then put your sim in and enjoy.
  3. Kayzo

    Kayzo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    That easy, eh? Alright, thanks a lot!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. HackHot31

    HackHot31 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Make sure you call customer service and get data cancelled if you're using it on the iPhone, if not your bill could be really pricy!
  5. iBoss™

    iBoss™ Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yupp.

    Jailbrake it, then download ultrasn0w from the ultrasn0w cydia source.
    I believe its repo666.ultrasn0w.com (correct me if I'm wrong)

Share This Page