iPad WorldWide 3G

Discussion in 'iPad' started by LipodFAN, May 9, 2010.

  1. LipodFAN

    LipodFAN New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just wanted to know if i can use the ipad 3G for any worldwide 3g network that support 850/1900/2100 bands.


    THX
  2. Mobious

    Mobious Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    Well mine should come in in a few days, so I can tell ya then?
  3. Alpha911

    Alpha911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    You obviously cant do that, cause every country has their own carriers.

    Thats why there is this little word " roaming" this means extra payments for traffic in other countries.

    by the way, not every country has its own 3G network, so NO.
  4. Mobious

    Mobious Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    Well let me get this straight, if hes asking whether he can just pop in any micro-sim from any other carrier around the world that runs on the same bands as AT&T, then yes, the iPad should work without any issues.

    If hes asking whether he will be able to use an iPad 3G with an AT&T Sim card around the world, the answer is no unless you have a roaming plan.
  5. badboy.mjk

    badboy.mjk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    In NZ or OZie there's 3G on the same bands as long as you use Vodafone or Telecom in NZ
  6. hodsgod

    hodsgod New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    What is a micro sim?

    Is it just the standard sim we have used in Europe for more than ten years?

    Ah no it isn't I just found out
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Ok another question, I am planning to buy a ipad with 3g next week in the US. Does anyone know if I can just trim down an existing simcard that has 3g access and expect it to work? I will be doing it in UK I should add.
  7. Mobious

    Mobious Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    Make sure your carrier runs in the same baseband or frequency that AT&T does. If it does then yes cutting down a sim card works as I did it and I am posting from my iPad 3G with a converted sim in it.
  8. hodsgod

    hodsgod New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    Thanks, I checked the frequency band, and all is OK. I will be trying it out next week.

Share This Page