iPad Simulator

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by nskjunky, Oct 16, 2010.

  1. nskjunky

    nskjunky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Hey guys, I have found an interesting .plist file.

    I currently have an iPT 3G Jailbroken on 4.1.

    I went through iFile and found out, that under /System/Library/CoreServices/SpringBoard.app, there were 2 .plist files. One called iPadSimulator.plist, and the otherone iPhone4Simulator.plist.

    Does anyone know what they are ment to do or why they are even there?


    thanks,

    nskjunky
  2. iBricked

    iBricked Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,874
    Likes Received:
    39
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    I don't have it jailbroken, but could you list the contents of the plist?
  3. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    iPad.

  4. XxRedRumxX

    XxRedRumxX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    They both just show the stuff thats in the NXXAP.plist files.
    But one thing that I did notice is that the iPadSimulator.plist had 720p in it. Does that mean the the future iPad could have a camera?
    Heres what I was talking about:

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. iBricked

    iBricked Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,874
    Likes Received:
    39
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Yeah. I just went through that and its what it says on the N88ap.plist for the iphone4 and ipad versions. I wonder what happens if you do a switch?
  6. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    You'll go into a bootloop.
  7. Aprosamurai

    Aprosamurai Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Yeah most definitely, it'll begin to call upon things that are not present when booting and when it doesn't find them it'll reboot itself to hopefully load them, and it'll just constantly repeat the process.
  8. iBricked

    iBricked Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,874
    Likes Received:
    39
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Heh. You're right.
  9. nskjunky

    nskjunky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    OK... Now what exactly is the .plist file for?

    Is it just for the iPad or iPhone Simulator you run over the Mac (The software), or can you actually "simulate" an iPad or iPhone on the iPod Touch?
  10. Peebs

    Peebs New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Probably just the Mac, but simulating the iPad on the iPod Touch would be impossible, dare i say it...

Share This Page