Ipad as 3G hotspot?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by karl33, Apr 20, 2010.

  1. karl33

    karl33 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I've seen several youtube videos that show the Mywi app running on iPhones so it can share the 3G service with an iPad. But if a 3G iPad had the app installed on it (jailbroken, of course), could you use the iPad as a hotspot to use an iPhone? I want to get an iPad but I am trying to decide between the wi-fi version and the 3G version. I would prefer to pay the cheaper AT&T 3G rate for an iPad than the higher AT&T rate for an iphone.
  2. Harry Goldfarb

    Harry Goldfarb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    it would make sence that it would work
  3. ipodtouch1234

    ipodtouch1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    Nope, ATT won't let you have an iPhone without a data plan.
  4. karl33

    karl33 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I already have an iPhone. I'm talking about cancelling my service on the iPhone (yes, I'd have to pay a ETF - I know) and getting a iPad 3G and using it to make calls using with a wifi service (Skype or something like it) on the iPhone or even an Touch.
  5. shortperson1026

    shortperson1026 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    21
    You could just make the calls from the iPad itself and sell the iPhone.

    No jailbreak needed!
  6. Unreal Boy

    Unreal Boy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    Ye ipad has built in mic which works perfectly with skype (i didnt even know it had a mic so it was amazing when i discovered it on my ipad)
  7. Sparkyx

    Sparkyx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Wrong. I have an iPhone 3G with AT&T. No data plan. Changed the APN. At first, i had numerous emails and texts about it, but eventually they changed it to a "generic phone" on my plan.

    ...sorry to put this slightly off topic.
  8. ipodtouch1234

    ipodtouch1234 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    They automatically activated a plan for one of my friends... Ill pass that along to them.

Share This Page