iOS 4.0 iOS 4 with VMWare

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by AMurphy, Jun 11, 2010.

1. AMurphy

AMurphy Banned

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hi, I have VMWare Workstation and I am successfully running Mac OSX Snow Leopard on it. I managed to install itunes 9.2 beta on it. However when i try to restore to ios 4.0 GM on it verifies it with Apple and then when it goes to preparing iPod for restore it disconnects and reconnects a few times. This causes it to be disconnected from VMWare and then ends up being connected again, then the iPod is stuck at Preparing iPod for Restore. Can someone please help me! I know it can work , other people have done it.
    And yes, I am a developer
  2. xXrkidXx

xXrkidXx Well-Known Member

Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    you should restore to 3.1.3 and stay on it. Just wait, You can only sync with that Mac OS X VM and you wont have all of your stuff on it.

It will be out soon enough.. You can hold out till then

Please Register or Log in to view images

I made the mistake of doing the same thing to my iPod touch(Thank god I used the Update ramdisk in the IPSW so I still have all my stuff on it) but now I can't sync with windows. And none of my content is on my hackint0sh.
  3. MarioKartMaster

MarioKartMaster New Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I got this EXACT error for a long time, being stuck at "Preparing iPod for Restore". I am assuming the resulting error is 1611 or 1604.

The secret is to first have a fresh copy of your VM. It turns out a few corrupted iTunes files causes the restore to not complete and you will be in an endless restore loop.

If you made a "snapshot" of your VM when you set it up, just revert to that and it should restore perfectly. Also make sure you're in DFU mode if possible as it lessens the chance of error.

I must warn you though, that I have been unsuccessful at syncing music in VMware, even when I transferred my library.
  4. AMurphy

AMurphy Banned

Device:
    3G iPod touch