Welcome to the iFans Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!

Interesting - "simulatecrash"

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by kewlgreen, Jun 22, 2009.

  1. kewlgreen

    kewlgreen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    This will not harm your device, but what ever does happen is your responsibility, not mine. OK?

    I was looking around in my iPod with SSH and found a binary titled "simulatecrash". So I decided to go into MobileTerminal and see what it could do. Again this doesn't do anything harmful to your iPod, or iPhone.

    It just makes your screen jump side-to-side looking like it's glitching.

    **UPDATE**

    It'll also distort any sound that comes out of your iPod. (NOT permanently)

    **UPDATE**

    It'll keep going even if you quit out of Terminal.

    Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u9UJB3qyc10

    So I typed in "simulatecrash" and it came up with:

    [​IMG]

    The only command that I got working (so far was) "simulatecrash -h":
    (Which is all you need to do, open up terminal, and type in "simulatecrash -h" that's it)

    [​IMG]

    Most of the other commands gave a "Bus Error":

    [​IMG]

    To quit out of the simulation just slide your finger diagonally up and to the right corner of the screen (Control-C)[Like this]:

    [​IMG]
  2. fckinfamous

    fckinfamous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,376
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    What does it do?
  3. LeanPocketTouch

    LeanPocketTouch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Pretty cool. I'll check that out later.
  4. kewlgreen

    kewlgreen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I fixed it sorry, and it won't take a screen shot of it doing it, just a "normal" screen.
  5. IceBerg

    IceBerg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Incidentally a buss error is usually due to bad memory allocation inside the application.

    I wonder if we can figure out what the rest of the options are supposed to do in tethered debug mode or something.
  6. kewlgreen

    kewlgreen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Who knows. Could it be an "error" in the terminal application itself. Bad handling maybe?
  7. David.

    David. Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    so could you tell us the commands to do, as in 1st: su 2nd: alpine etc ?
  8. IceBerg

    IceBerg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    I've just had lots of experience lately with the bus error. Im writing a framework that dynamically creates classes and accesses them through a series of pointers stored in another class, it sounds messy which is why it's a framework so others don't have to mess with it. That is of course if I can figure out the memory allocation issue.
  9. kewlgreen

    kewlgreen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Updated.
  10. deeboy55

    deeboy55 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    aha trippy :) thanks for this i can make it look my friends ipod is broke ;)

Share This Page