Intel unlocks your processing power you already have for $50

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by qaiz, Sep 19, 2010.

?

Are You Shocked?

  1. Yes, this is crazy? WTF Intel?

    83.3%
  2. No, it was only a matter of time.

    16.7%
  1. qaiz

    qaiz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    Intel are now selling Upgrade cards at Best Buy that unlocks latent processing power that your PC already has inside its Silicon guts.

    Aww how nice of them!

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    As detailed by the folks as Hardware.info, the Cards grant you access to software that upgrades the Pentium G6951 Processor. How does it do this? Well basically it enables the 1MB of L3 cache and Hyperthreading support that already exists on the Chip.

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Locked VS Unlocked Performance as detailed by Intel

    The 2.8GHz G6951 is sold with 3MB of L3 cache and has Hyperthreading disabled by default. By purchasing the Hardware DLC...I mean 'Upgrade card' you will have access to the full designated 4Mb L3 cache along with Hyperthreading enabled.

    The enchantment are enabled by downloading a piece of software from Intel and inserting the PIN from the Upgrade Card.

    Intel says the added L3 Cache and Hyperthreading is useful for

    • Multitasking
    • Rendering of photos, film or music
    • Most kinds of digital content creation
    • Enjoying High-definition media

    Another problem is weather or not hackers will be able to break into the software and gain access for free, its only a matter of time.

    As you all know, this isn't exactly new, but its still shocking to think a company can charge you to gain performance that you already have.
  2. GazaIan

    GazaIan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5,975
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    I never thought a company would charge you for what you bought O_O... i'd feel tricked...

    Silly Intel, tricks are for kids

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. SwiftSkii

    SwiftSkii Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    ZOMG
    WTF INTEL!

    Next thing you know you have to pay to unlock your iPod touch then get a card to unlock that card then get another card to unlock that card that unlocks your iPod touch.

    Sooo much unlocking.



    Unlock =P
  4. qaiz

    qaiz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    Lol Intel is probably run by Children

    Yeah, its crazy to think that what we buy isn't all that we use. Its hard to believe many of your devices are underpowered just to make us upgrade.
  5. Lux2GS

    Lux2GS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,678
    Likes Received:
    138
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Crazy. I'm happy to own a AMD, which has everything unlocked and is overclockable by default.
  6. ChrisGonzales90

    ChrisGonzales90 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    I remember an intel ad back in the 90s that was about kids being on the computer. Can't find it on youtube, but it was a kid getting on the computer at sunset/night time
  7. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    No they don't.

    A lot of X2's and X3's simply have one of their cores/caches shut off to meet demeand, or it is bad so they sell it for less.

    I was lucky with my X2 5000, in that it is an older make of chip that is actually a Phenom 2 X4 with Deneb cores and it unlocked and overclocked a full 56%.
  8. Torin_93

    Torin_93 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    This is ridiculous.
  9. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Why? AMD chips usually shut things off like I said before, and usually you have to look for a mobo with ACC to unlock the locked stuff.

    Difference between AMD and Intel is that usually Intel laser cuts the connections between cores instead of just shutting them down.
  10. Torin_93

    Torin_93 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I have a AMD.
    How do you unlock this stuff? How do I know whats locked?

Share This Page