Installing Kalyway 10.5.2??

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by Ulysses_609, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. Ulysses_609

    Ulysses_609 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Ok so I just burned the .iso image to a DVD. So what next I know I have to put it in my disc tray and boot from the disk to install.. But is there any commands that I need to put in or what do I need to do??
  2. Meikura

    Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    No, it should work fine.
    This isn't primarily an OSX86 forum though, so if you want proper technical help I suggest you sign up at http://www.insanelymac.com/
  3. Ulysses_609

    Ulysses_609 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Thanks! I'll check that site out anyways, they might have some extra info.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. Dehkiddneto

    Dehkiddneto New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    in my case i just insert the dvd, shut down pc, turn it on while holding down C (holding c boots the cd drive instead of the HDD)
  5. Meikura

    Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    insanelymac is a forum dedicated to getting OS X working on non-Mac computers, so they will have the expertise and knowledge to help you if any problem arises.

    Hope it works for you!
  6. Ulysses_609

    Ulysses_609 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    umm is this normal? I booted from the disc and it's at a blank screen and it has a lot of white lettering. And it says
    applenforceATA: found 0 units
    Still waiting for root device
    Still waiting for root device
    Still waiting for root device
  7. River

    River New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't mention it, so I'm assuming you're trying to make a hackintosh.

    1. Change BIOS settings to boot from the CDR as the 1st boot device in the chain.

    2. While you're in BIOS, also change the setting labeled "Execute-Disable Bit Capacity", to DISABLE.

    These are the common things forgotten during installs. Make sure you're using the right SSE-type and CPU type. For example, make sure your machine has SSE2 and or SSE3 functionality, AMD or Intel type as well.

    The options available to you at boottime (F8) are:
    -x : Safe Mode
    -v : Vanilla

    Use -v first as a cleaner install. If that fails, use the -x switch and see where it hangs.
  8. Ulysses_609

    Ulysses_609 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Thanks I'll try that out tomorrow. Also I have 2 hard drives in my machine one has the vista OS and the other is blank but is formatted to NTFS. How do I install it on the blank hard drive??
  9. River

    River New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmmmm... Well you're going to need a bootloader to help you there. As for the target you're going to install OSX on, format it to Linux-type, just to simplify things. HFS/+ and NTFS really don't like each other w/o protocols.
  10. Ulysses_609

    Ulysses_609 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    So how do I do that?? Sorry I'm a major noob at doing this sort of thing.

Share This Page