Installer through Cydia

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by wammybar6, Apr 8, 2009.

  1. wammybar6

    wammybar6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Is there a way I can get Installer 4 or 5 (preferably 5) through Cydia or SSH, I just don't want to restore. If so please help me.
  2. crimsondynamo329

    crimsondynamo329 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    1. Go to Manage>Sources>Edit (on the top bar)>Add and enter "http://apt.ripdev.com"
    2. Sources will refresh, and you can install Installer or Icy like any other app
    3. Don't use Installer or Icy, RipDev is evil.
  3. Noise...

    Noise... Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    ^Why? Icy is excellent. If you plan on using the "OH NOES THEY DON'T HAS ADS" excuse, click more info in Icy.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    I'm all for Cydia. However it's slow as f***, and "RELOADING DATA" every 3 minutes is rage inducing. Icy does what Cydia does, but faster and more streamlined.
  4. madcowz

    madcowz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Wait installer 5 is out?? Z0MG rly?

    My Cydia is busted. It crashes on startup. I am forced to use Icy until I restore for 3.0 when the JB is out.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    And Installer is not on the RiPDev repo. Try <cydia.banhammer-dev> it has installer 4.1 on it.
  5. crimsondynamo329

    crimsondynamo329 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I think Icy is the new installer, but idk.
    Maker: Icy is great, but the "OH NOES THEY DON'T HAS ADS" is a dealbreaker. Face it: no ads=no revenue for repo hosts, no revenue=no repo. It's that simple

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Madcowz: Have you tried removing and reinstalling Cydia? ("sudo apt-get remove Cydia" then the same with install, not remove)

    Anyway, this isn't an Icy discussion thread so I'll shut up

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. Noise...

    Noise... Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Ah...but Icy DOES have ads. When you hit "More info" to see screens and such, there are ads on those pages.

    As far as Installer 5, it's not out yet to my knowledge.
  7. amike500

    amike500 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    why cant i edit or add souces to cydia...al i see is a long list of installed packages

    i go to mange and there is no edit or add, only thing i see at the top of the page is installed pakages
    somebody help me...ive been dealing with this for three days and nobody has helped me
    but i heard u guys were the best
  8. crimsondynamo329

    crimsondynamo329 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    So, when you tap Manage on the bottom bar, you should see three options: Packages, Sources, and Storage. Tap Sources, then at the top right will be "Edit," and after you tap that then "Add" will appear in the top left.

Share This Page