Installer keeps shutting off?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by HyperByte, Jun 3, 2008.

  1. HyperByte

    HyperByte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just downloaded the "all sources" app to get more sources and now every time I try to run installer it just stays blank for a few seconds then shuts down. whats with that?
  2. Gitykins

    Gitykins Banned

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,760
    Likes Received:
    1
    SSH into it and delete /private/var/mobile/Library/Installer/PackageSources.plist

    All sources is known to cause a lot of problems with installer.
  3. Ulysses_609

    Ulysses_609 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    dont do what he said! I had the same problem a little while ago..SSH into it and in /private/var/mobile/Library/Installer/ rename RemotePackages.plist to remote packages.plist.old
    This worked for me and hopefully it will work for you!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. Gitykins

    Gitykins Banned

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,760
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wait, why the f*** did I say PackageSources lmao?

    Probably caused I was SSH'ed in and had .../Installer open.... sorry bout that.
  5. Joe Rossignol

    Joe Rossignol Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,500
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Installing a source which installs more sources isn't the greatest idea because many problems arise and it also slows the Installer.app refresh time, alot.
  6. HyperByte

    HyperByte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont have SSH installed the best I can do is overwrite RemotePackages.plist as blank or something, would that work or ruin it?
  7. adam_knows_best

    adam_knows_best New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem, but when I ssh Into my phone, i get to library, and on the library list. I dont have Installer? I have installer installed on my phone though?

Share This Page