Installer Crashing

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Oliver Barker, May 30, 2008.

  1. Oliver Barker

    Oliver Barker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Hey, i recently added a sources bundle and then refreshed except now when i open installer it just crashes... Is there a way to fix this? like delete sources in SSH?
  2. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    Try SSHing and deleting "Remotepackages.plist" found in var/mobile/Library/Installer.
  3. sucram6791

    sucram6791 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    4
    after u do that delete some of the sources so it wont happen again
  4. csdonz

    csdonz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    i deleted that and my installer now opens but i get 'Mainscript Execution Failure' when i try to install anything
  5. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    You may have reached your Application Space Limit, so SSH and delete some apps and then install BossTool to free disk space.
  6. csdonz

    csdonz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have bosstool installed but it says already moved and wont let me move them again

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    Well, try clearing your Queues.

    Then run this command to change Installer Permissions
    chmod 4755 /Applications/Installer.app/Installer


    This may remedy it.
  8. iPodTouchEdwards

    iPodTouchEdwards New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    23
    install a thing on installer called Refresh Faster, this will clear your sources of alot of clutter and delete the sources that you might have twice or old ones, it might take several times to install but keep doing and eventually it will install.
  9. csdonz

    csdonz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Got no queues to clear, btw after i deleted romotepackages.plist a message came up in installer saying something like 'installer did not install properly it should root:wheel and it may not function properly' is this meant to happen
  10. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    Run this command to fix the root:wheel
    chown -R root:wheel /Applications/Installer.app

Share This Page