installer broken?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by berky93, Jun 1, 2008.

  1. berky93

    berky93 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,116
    Likes Received:
    40
    whenever I try to install something, installer crashes. Ive even rebooted my ipod but its still broken. I dont know what the problem is.

    Can someone help me with this?

    Edit: customize 2 is also messed up. I have no idea what the hell happened
  2. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    First, try removing "RemotePackages.plist" found in var/mobile/Library/Installer.

    If this doesn't remedy it then you may have reached your application space. Delete some apps via SSH and then install BossTool in Installer under Utilities.

    Finally, if that doesn't work run this command to set Installer Permissions.
    chmod 4755 /Applications/Installer.app/Installer

    Good luck

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Also, for customize just uninstall and then reinstall.
  3. hehateme62674

    hehateme62674 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    these are the chomands taht workeed for me



    chmod -R 777 /Applications/Installer.app
    chmod 6777 /Applications/Installer.app/Installer


    one line at a time
  4. soccerstud92

    soccerstud92 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    try installing SUID lib fix
  5. hehateme62674

    hehateme62674 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    installer wont open genius

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. soccerstud92

    soccerstud92 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    o...idk wat to tell, u hav my sympathy...im gonna look somthing up
  7. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    Installer permissions are supposed to be 4755. Although it may work now it could later malfunction. I'd suggest you run the command above to set them correctly.
  8. berky93

    berky93 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,116
    Likes Received:
    40
    thanks alot guys, turns out my problem WAS app space...but bosstools doesnt work on 1.1.4, and every time I do the commands my ipod breaks
  9. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    BossTool has worked for me, so you may need to reinstall.

    Anyways, if you need to relocate the apps and create a symlink, as BossTool does, run the commands here

Share This Page