install leopard on toshiba????

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by freshnewton7, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. freshnewton7

    freshnewton7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok since on one's reading the thread i posted on earlier im going to delete n post again..

    i have a Toshiba a215-s7422 laptop

    spec's
    Operating windows vista premium
    CPU Type: AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-58 1.9G
    Memory Size: 2GB DDR2
    Hard Disk: 250GB
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon X1200 IGP
    Video Memory: shared memory
    Communication: Modem, LAN and WLAN
    Card slot: 1 x Express Card"

    CPU-
    CPU Type: AMD Turion 64 X2
    CPU Speed: TL-58(1.90GHz)
    CPU L2 Cache: 2 x 512KB

    Graphics-
    GPU/VPU: ATI Radeon X1200 IGP
    Video Memory: (128MB-319MB) Dynamically Allocated Shared Graphics Memory
    Graphic Type: Integrated Card

    Hard Drive-
    HDD: 250GB
    HD RPM: 5400rpm
    HD Interface: SATA

    a noob guide would be great.. im new to windows ( just sold my powerbook=(( )
    any help is appreciated!


    freshh
  2. taxbax

    taxbax New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    i had the a135 and it couldn't take the hackint0sh installs. i tried at least ten different builds. maybe its different now, i have since got a mac book pro and im running parallels

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. freshnewton7

    freshnewton7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    3
    i think my comp can deff. take it.. i have heard of people doing it with 1gig of ram..
    i just need good advice i dont want to screw it upp

    freshhh
  4. tgluak

    tgluak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    I don't think he meant the specs weren't enough, I think he meant the hardware is incompatible.
  5. freshnewton7

    freshnewton7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    3
    ohhh
    well are you sure??
  6. deadlyvirus

    deadlyvirus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I've got a Toshiba and it doesn't work.
  7. MrBrightside

    MrBrightside Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    18
    Check the osx86 wiki to see if hardware works.
  8. taxbax

    taxbax New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    yea it was hardware. something to do with the hard drive type i think it ended up being. it is so hard to know but if i ever buy a PC again I will check the list on the OSx86 wiki first.
  9. eraserhead

    eraserhead New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Your problem is going to stem more from the fact it is AMD. You can most likely get it running, but not vanilla. It will take a specific kernel to run on an AMD. You will also have issues with any updates from Apple. There are plenty of people running OSx86 on a machine like yours and detailed guides on how to do so over at insanelymaC...even ones specific for anyone running AMD, thats your best bet. I'd be willing to say you can do it, but it will require some finesse. Don't expect an easy install, or one that works the on the first try.

    www.insanelymac.com

    Good Luck!
  10. freshnewton7

    freshnewton7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    3

Share This Page