Install Application on iPod Touch From Xcode

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by Steaps, Oct 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steaps

    Steaps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    41
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Alright, can anyone help me. I need a basic tutorial on how to install the applications i make in Xcode, onto my iPod touch. I know they need to be signed, and i have ldid, but how do i use it?

    I'm on a Mac, i have access to Windows if needed. I have ldid installed, but no clue how to use it. I have some basic knowledge on terminal. (ssh root@ip)

    Thanks.
  2. murphmanny

    murphmanny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,250
    Likes Received:
    3
    i'd also like to know as some of my apps have been made in xcode/sdk
    thanx
  3. allbrokeup

    allbrokeup New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Create the app in Xcode, once done, click Build. Not Build and Go.

    Once done, make sure everything is saved. Quit Xcode. Disconnect your Device.

    Go into /Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform/ and open up Info.plist that you see in there. Expand all options until you find two entries:

    PROVISIONING_PROFILE_REQUIRED - YES
    PROVISIONING_PROFILE_ALLOWED - YES

    Change both of those to NO.

    Save and Quit

    Open up Xcode, open up your Project.

    Connect your Device, Build and Go. It should now install. It works for me

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    .
  4. Steaps

    Steaps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    41
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I will try this right now, thank you.

    EDIT: Did not work for me.
  5. murphmanny

    murphmanny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,250
    Likes Received:
    3
    thanx
    will try it out
  6. Steaps

    Steaps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    41
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Did it work out for you?
  7. allbrokeup

    allbrokeup New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you on Xcode 3.1 with the latest iPhone SDK? If not, then this little hack will not work. The best way if you aren't on 3.1, is to make a Codesign Identity in Keychain Access with your First and Last Name. Open up the Xcode Project, go into the project properties and change the "Codesigning Identity/Any iPhoneOS Device" to the name of the Codesign Certificate that you made - i.e. Mark Citizen. Then, Build the app. Set it as Release.

    Then, find the app in your home folder or wherever you decided to keep it, and upload it to the Apps folder via SSH. It is already signed. So it will work.

    This way is flawless as the other way is not so good.

    Thankyou.

    P.S. Feedback please

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. Steaps

    Steaps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    41
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Yes i am in the newest Xcode.
  9. Your Everyday Hacker

    Your Everyday Hacker Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe somewhere in the menu, there is are 2 options. 1. Use iPhone Simulator 2. Direct to Device (something like that, I'll check it out once I'm back on OS X)
  10. Steaps

    Steaps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    41
    Device:
    iPod touch
    There is, and i know. How else would i select Build & Go to Device? It builds it differently whether its for the Device or the Simulator; only the Device version will work on the Device...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page