Increase memory space

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by biggercrap, Apr 18, 2009.

  1. biggercrap

    biggercrap New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    How to allocate more memory for categories?
  2. iLINUX

    iLINUX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad 2 (White)
    I don't got it?
  3. Salmanius

    Salmanius Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    I think hes talking about increasing his RAM, because Categories uses it up fast and then crashes.

    Heres some ideas.
    -Dont have winterboard running anything.
    -Dont run anything in the backround(including music).
    -Restart your idevice before using.

    Theres really not a lot you can do considering it is hardware your talking about.
  4. Ezekeel

    Ezekeel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Each categories folder you open and background need about 8MB RAM. You can open and background three folder, Safari, Terminal and MobileMusicPlayer and still have 10MB RAM left. If you need more RAM for a game you can always kill processes with SBSetting Processes or MemTool or simply Respring.
  5. dudeitsriley

    dudeitsriley Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    1
    How to write a question?
    ...................................
    Don't use categories?
  6. JayTraceur

    JayTraceur New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Go into safe mode while doing it. it frees up a good 30/40 mb
  7. iMaztrr

    iMaztrr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    I have a quesetion thats almost the same. On my computer if I go into control panel>system>advanced>performence settings>advanced>I can transform some of my harddrive paging drive which the computer uses as RAM. Can this be done on an iPod.
  8. dean11

    dean11 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    no it doesent have page file

Share This Page