Importing an iPod Touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by t3homni, Oct 3, 2007.

  1. t3homni

    t3homni New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I live in Australia and well... the price for the iPod touch here is unbelievable. I converted the US price to Aussie dollars and I found that I'd save about $100 if I imported from USA.

    So if I did, would there be an compatability problems? Warranty problems?
  2. rokrboy

    rokrboy Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,475
    Likes Received:
    29
    Device:
    iPod touch
    doubt it, i mean you probably couldn't return it but otherwise you should be fine

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    . The cost of shipping is what's going to kill you.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. djricekcn

    djricekcn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    don't forget shippingand custom taxes
  4. andyandy6464

    andyandy6464 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should be fine. I was going to go into a whole rant about NTSC and PAL, but files cant be NTSC or PAL.

    Now, i dunno if the touch has video out...If so, that might cause you a problem, because it will definately export NTSC. I'd check into that.
  5. t3homni

    t3homni New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    How much would shipping costs be? And where would I look to import? I don't think the US Apple store ships overseas.
  6. andyandy6464

    andyandy6464 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    That I don't know. You might have to go some google searching yourself on that one.
  7. t3homni

    t3homni New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I have the opportunity to import and save about $70. I just need to know, is the warranty INTERNATIONAL?

    And just a random thing, I saw a photo of a touch in the 'slide to unlock' screen, but it had track controls. So can you still pause and skip tracks without having to unlock the touch each time?
  8. dennythepest

    dennythepest New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    When I bought my ipod-mini in 2005 in NY City (I am Italian), they told me the warranty was international. It was indeed so, as I had some troubles with the click-wheel almost one year after and I had my old mini replaced with a new one here in Italy.
  9. trankillity

    trankillity New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    The controls appear if you double tap the menu button and yes, you can use the basic next, prev, pause, volume controls without needing to unlock. Very nifty feature.
  10. t3homni

    t3homni New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies. Unfortunately my parents won't let me buy one until next year. :C

Share This Page