Im in need of some help.

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by KenijiKun, Jul 22, 2009.

  1. KenijiKun

    KenijiKun New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Alright well, im trying to SSH my ipod so I can install some stuff manually. But when I do the whole ip, root, and alpine thing in WinSCP, I get...."Network Error: Connection Timed Out". Can anyone help?
  2. Universal Denizen

    Universal Denizen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Ok, now that error suggests a problem with the network. In any case, may I suggest that you use i-funbox or diskaid? You would not need wi-fi then - just connect to your computer through the USB cable.
  3. KenijiKun

    KenijiKun New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I was thinking about those but then I hear that you need to have WinSCP to set permissions and do terminal stuff
  4. David.

    David. Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Do you have OpenSSH Installed through Cydia?
  5. Universal Denizen

    Universal Denizen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Good point you raise! Yes, see whether OpenSSH installed & whether it is ON before you connect using WinSCP.

    Also, I think you'd be able to change permissions & stuff through i-funbox as well. I haven't tried it, but I don't see why you shouldn't be able to do so.
  6. KenijiKun

    KenijiKun New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yeah I have OpenSSH installed. I did some research before I decided to post. But a source came out with the cracked gpSphone so now I dont need it. But thanks. When I need to SSH next time I'll try I-funbox

Share This Page