I'm an Ipod touch newbie asking Q's about Jailbreak

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Jayemz, Apr 18, 2010.

1. Jayemz

Jayemz New Member

Hi,

First of all i'm just gonna say i was lazy and didn't search for topics mainly due to the fact i didn't know what to search for, and i wasn't up for making mass searches

Please Register or Log in to view images

I'm planning on getting an ipod touch 32gb - 3rd gen (since it supposidly has a better cpu?), and i'd like to get it jail broken as a bunch of folks at work have it done. I'm planning on using it mainly for skype and ventrillo (i'm sure i saw an app for that somewhere).

I read up that the 3rd gen ones become 'tethered' devices, i understand that means i need to re-jailbreak it every time i turn if off, for whatever reason i need to. I'm ok with that, but how long does it take to re-do if i have to turn it off?

Once the device is jail broken and 'tethered' will it permenantly remain like this? or can you remove the jailbreak and it will work completely fine after? (incase i ever want to sell it on)

Is it possible that my touch could end up getting bricked during a jailbreak process or not? I don't want to fork out money and mess it up from the word go

Please Register or Log in to view images

Is there any "un-jailbreakable" versions/models of the Ipod Touch out there currently? (or firmware versions?) that i should stay clear of?

Lastly, how should i go about jail-breaking it once i get it? (although i suppose i can read about here for that with ease) and what are the DO's and DONT's with jailbreaking.

Thanks!
  2. daconcerror

daconcerror Banned

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Ok so to re-jailbreak to turn it back on takes about the same time as a normal boot. if you buy a 3rd gen now I don't think you will be ableto jailbreak anyway becuase it will be on 3.1.3
  3. Jayemz

Jayemz New Member

Is there no method to downgrade the firmware?
  4. Tkf1

Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

Device: