IF you've Windows, don't bother making a repo.

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Blizzard, Feb 1, 2008.

  1. Blizzard

    Blizzard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most of your are stuck on either.
    a. making the repo - coding
    b. uploading
    c. having problems with script.

    now, after you've spent ages going through all this, if you don't have a mac, or linux, to zip the file INTO A MAC READABLE ".ZIP", IT WILL NOT WORK.

    I am currently looking for a way to use windows to zip a folder/file into a Mac readable format, I am currently investigating StuffIt as it has both mac and windows versions.
  2. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    Not true. You just have to call each file individually. While that's okay with Applications, it can be a pain with themes.
  3. Blizzard

    Blizzard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Call each file? elaborate.
  4. bddckr

    bddckr Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    18
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
  5. solyd

    solyd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...completely untrue.

    My repo (made on Windows Vista) works fine. Winrar zips all the files just fine too...
  6. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    Please read the first post again.

    The OP was referring to a "mac readable" zip file, not a rar file.
  7. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Skylar, winrar compresses to zip too!
  8. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    A ha, I didn't know that. I use Power Archiver, and that takes care of every format (that I can think of). The last I knew, winrar used CLI instead of GUI, is this correct, or am I thinking of the wrong program?
  9. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    winrar has had a GUI for quite some time now

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. Nike

    Nike New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok... I tried:

    winrar
    7-zip
    Power Archiver
    Zip utility of Vista
    linux zip scripts

    Ipod touch downloads all zip files but it can't install packages...result: "main script execution failed!"
    can you explain me the reason why?

Share This Page