Icy iphone jailbroken. bricks on reset!

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by cawthorne, Oct 31, 2009.

  1. cawthorne

    cawthorne New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Hi there. I recently noticed that if you reset (erase all content and settings) to a jailbroken iphone with icy or cydia installed, on reboot it will fails at the apple boot logo and goes no further with a crashed loading circle. This happened to me and so i restored it with a hacked .ipsw file with pwnage 3.1.4 and itunes and it worked fine, i went to open icy and it started saying moving file directory /applications. When it had finished i reset it again and the same thing happened, so i opened icy again and quit it before it had a chance to move the directory and then went back into it and it worked, apart from that it hadn't installed dpkg so was useless. I did a reset again and it worked fine and icy was still there!(but still hasn't got any of the essential files dpkg etc.)
    so the problem must be that it moves a directory to a different partition or something.
    Okay here is what i'm trying to do, i want a unlocked iphone only not jailbroken just unlocked so i can sell it to a shop and get £80 more pllus i think if we can do this it would be good for the community. However if i want it unlocked i must jailbreak, so my goal is to install icy/cydia unlock it with ultrasn0w (i have already downgraded baseband) then completely remove cydia/icy without them moving any directories on first boot, because the shop i'm selling it to will do a reset and that will obviously stop them buying it from me, thanks and all help is appreciated. oh yeah and i'm on firmware 3.1.2.
  2. beakybal4

    beakybal4 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    icy is really buggy, stay well away from it if you want your ipod/iphone to work. Stick to cydia. turning off your caps lock once in a while wouldnt hurt either

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Josh.
  3. Gershmer

    Gershmer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    There is no need to type in all caps.

    Also, in case you didn't know, Erase all Contents and Settings on a JB'ed device = Spinning Wheel of Death.
  4. iptlolage123

    iptlolage123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    just in case you dont no icy is long gone
  5. lolwut37

    lolwut37 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Your caps lock hurts my eyes
  6. C4NNIBAL

    C4NNIBAL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    23
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    Not to mention, it also makes you look un-edumacated. Well like others have said, don't bother with Icy. I only used when I needed to uninstall something extremely quickly, and for nothing else. All hail Cydia and Jay Freeman!
  7. iptlolage123

    iptlolage123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    use rock and cydia (rock to uninstall things)
  8. radicalmyk

    radicalmyk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hello everyone,

    Im new here.. I just want toask for help. I have an ipod touch 2g orig firmware is 3.1.1 then Jailbreak by Blackra1n and updated to 3.1.2. I also have the same problem like what is said in the all caps above =). everytime i reset my ipod or turn it off/on it automatically switch to connect ipod to itunes then restore then all my stuff in ipod is gone =(. can anyone help me out on how to Jailbreak without having an error like this.
  9. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    I think you have an iPod Touch 3G. Anyways, you're not supposed to restore, just run blackra1n and press 'make it ra1n' again. Everything will still be how it was when you turned it off.
  10. imnouser

    imnouser Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    its not bricked dammit! a device is only bricked when u cannot do ANYTHING with it at all, only when ur device is an expensive paperweight is when its bricked

Share This Page