I want an iPod touch if . . .

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by gary3594, Apr 29, 2008.

1. gary3594

gary3594 New Member

I am completely new to the digital world. I don't have a digital camera (use a Hasselblad and Nikon F6, black and white only).

I am tired of carrying my computer on the plane for movies and music. (I don't have a iPod or any type of portable music player). I want to watch my own DVD movies and listen to my own CDs using the iPod touch if possible.

Can I download my own DVDs and CDs onto an iPod touch or do I have to pay via iTunes for music and movies. I heard of ripping DVDs which are encrypted. Would I need such a program to load my movies and music onto the Touch and what program(s) would you recommend. What kind of software is included with the iPod touch?

I probably wouldn't buy music/movies over the internet but would want to load my own DVDs and CDs. Thanks in advance.
  2. Masky64

Masky64 New Member

3. angrysheepdog

angrysheepdog New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    itunes is the program with the itouch, but you will need another to convert your DVDs to ipod format. Chances are though, if you have no idea what you are doing, the itouch is a bit too much for you (so many possible features and such). You would prob be better off with an ipod video. not quite the same, but a lot simpler and would cost less (you never want an expencive first ipod). just talk to a friend that has had an ipod, it would be a lot easier than using these forums (generally geared for a lot more advanced discussion - you might get quite a bit of flak from members who are a bit immature but act like they know everything because you are asking such questions).

Again, I would say someone you personally know who has had at least 2 ipods is the best person to go to (just one is not enough for them to make comparisons).
  4. Teslanaut

Teslanaut Well-Known Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch