I used the iPhone .ipsw on my Touch, what to do?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by plaqda, Apr 23, 2008.

  1. plaqda

    plaqda New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello all

    Someone on the winpwn forum thought it was funny too send med the iPhone .ipsw because i asked for the iPodTouch 1.1.4 ipsw. I restored, and i updated my Touch with the iPhone .ipsw. How can i fix it, so it gets completly fresh again?

    Please.
  2. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    How did you restore an iPhone iPSW on the iPod Touch in the first place anyway?

    You're supposed to get an Error when even getting close to trying.
  3. ipodtouchlover

    ipodtouchlover New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    well you will have to do is in itunes when you plug in your ipod touch click restore it will then refresh your ipod touch to its original firmware
  4. plaqda

    plaqda New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    I didn't get an error message, in my itunes it says that my Touch is an iPhone.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    It didn't stop at all when you loaded the iPhone iPSW?
  6. plaqda

    plaqda New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    No, but when i think back, i did it with the winpwn i think. But im not sure.
  7. ipNinja

    ipNinja New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    Hey,

    So as I understand you used winpwn with a iPhone firmware on you iPod touch? I did exactly the same thing and was so angry at myself.

    This is the only know fix I came up with.

    1) Uninstall iTunes and reboot you pc.
    2) Install iTunes 7.5 then reboot again.
    3) Plug you iPod touch in to the pc whilst iTunes is open. Now it should pick it back up as an iPod instead of iPhone if it is in recovery mode**
    4) Hold SHIFT down and press restore in iTunes.
    5) Locate firmware 1.1 (1.0.2) and restore. (If you get an error whilst restore do NOT worry it is fairly normal)
    6) Wait for the process to finish.
    7) Then hit restore without SHIFT and this will restore to 1.1.4 successfully.

    ** TO PUT IN RECOVERY MODE**
    PLUG IN IPOD!
    1) Hold down the power button and home button together for 10seconds.
    2) Release the power button but KEEP holding the home button.
    3) Wait another 4seconds then release home button.
    4) iTunes will now detect recovery mode.

    I Really hope this helps you mate and Please keep me posted 

    Good luck m8.
    Regards
  8. plaqda

    plaqda New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can i use the 1.1.1 firmware for the first restore or?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  9. swillard8

    swillard8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    11
  10. ipNinja

    ipNinja New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)

Share This Page